Call us: 01460 63479
Email: stay@alpinegrovetouringpark.com

 

Email: stay@alpinegrovetouringpark.com - Call Us: 01460 63479

Let us know how your stay was!




2015

December 28, 2015 December 30, 2015
We had a fabulous stay at these log cabins. It was perfect for us go get away with the children and dog! Our cabin was perfect! Lovely log burner and all the amenities we could ever need. Very roomy for a family of 5 and Labrador. The location is perfect for visits and getting to the beach is so easy. Nice woodland location meant it was great to get out with the dog early morning and there is a public footpath running alongside the woodland that goes for miles. The owners made the booking process so easy and we felt really welcomed. Would highly recommend a visit......
Amanda Wallis

December 25, 2015 December 30, 2015
WOW what an amazing place, every inch of the park is beautiful, every day you wake up you are just amazed at the scenery, the log cabins are out of this world, it really is a place you dont want to leave, will definitely be going back, thank you to Richard the owner who I dealt with for making it a perfect Christmas for me and my family.
Sorrell Buck

December 30, 2015 January 1, 2016
We spent new year here and had an absolutely wonderful time in the woods with the children and the hot tub for the adults. The cabin was well presented with decorations up which added to the magical atmosphere, we will certainly look at a return visit. Very relaxed break .
s parker Compton

December 21, 2015 December 28, 2014
OMG! What an absolute stunning Scandinavian log cabin. So much attention to detail with this place. It had everything and I mean everything. The Shower was amazing. The facilities were amazing.

The cabin was lovely and Christmassy and more than we thought. In the middle of the woods our cabin was called Owl. In the morning you woke unto the birds and the Owls.

I could quite happily live in the cabin all year round.

The owners Richard and Helen have done an outstanding achievement here. I could quite happily go on and on.

If you get the chance to stay here then do you will not regret it.

We are booked in for 2016 Christmas already.

Thank you so much.

Stayed December 2015, travelled with family
Steve Rickards

September 18, 2015 September 20, 2015
good am. would like to enquire regarding the price for the log cabin. and pitch with electric for family of 4.
many thanks riz

August 21, 2015 August 28, 2015
We had a brilliant stay in one of the log cabins at Alpine Grove this August - from the very warm welcome when we arrived, to the well-appointed and very comfortable cabin itself, everything made for a really lovely week, despite the rain! The park is very well maintained and neat, with pretty woodland surrounding secluded cabins and plenty of tent pitches. The outdoor pool is warm and clean, and our daughters loved 'borrowing' Richard and Helen's dogs for walks, as they were missing our own (who we left with a neighbour - although dogs are welcome on site). We hired a firepit a couple of nights and toasted marshmallows under the stars, and soaked in the luxurious hot tub after a busy day exploring Lyme Regis and the surrounding areas. My husband has mobility issues, but the long ramp to the cottage, and the accessible wet room in the main shower block helped make our stay much easier. We liked it so much we booked for next year before we left! Thanks for a great family holiday.
Helga

August 7, 2015 August 14, 2015
We had a wonderful stay in Woodpecker Cabin. The lodge was immaculately clean and welcoming. We chose the site as we do not like overcrowded, over touristy places and our holiday was still surpassed! Our children enjoyed the laid back approach of the owners within the site..meeting new friends, enjoying the lovely clean pool and we relaxed as we felt they were safe to play whilst we still wanted a "holiday" with children. The cabin has everything from home, we were sad to leave. Waking up under the trees through the skylight, seeing the regular morning Robin on the terrace And looking at the stars from the hot tub...but having the luxuries of home..thank you .
Roberta Holland

July 10, 2015 July 13, 2015
We had the most amazing time very clean friendly lovely Log cabin well worth the money pool was nice hot tub amazing differently would recommend and come back.
paula and Steve jones

July 24, 2015 August 31, 2015
Had a great time in the log cabin very handy for some great venue will definitely go back.
Dave Hinton

July 6, 2015 July 10, 2015
We had a fantastic stay, the lodge was lovely in a great spot, loved being close to everything but also in a secluded area, so that we could really relax. Richard and Helen were great hosts and nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely love to come again, next time with the dog as brilliant for walking.
Michelle Baldwin

June 26, 2015 July 3, 2015
Our first visit to Alpine Lodge certainly wont be our last. Cabins were brilliant & the rest of the family loved the campsite. Already recommended it to several people
Lynn Cannon.

May 25, 2015 May 29, 2015
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Alpine Grove. The log cabin we stayed in 'woodpecker' was spotlessly clean, airy, welcoming, well furnished and was located in an extremely peaceful situation. The hot tub was a real bonus and was situated with privacy in mind. I have no doubt that we (family of three) will be returning - it is just a case of when. Many thanks for your outstanding attention to detail.
Andrew Warring

April 29, 2015 May 2, 2015
Hello just a query but can you quote for me how much it would cost For those dates To stay in one of your log cabins? It would be myself and my partner,something nice to stay in For a 3rd anniversary. Thank you
Kandice Le Roux

April 13, 2015 April 16, 2015
Lovely high quality cabins extremely warm and comfortable in a beautiful setting. staff very friendly and helpful. The Jacuzzi looking at the birds in trees was just superb. Pleased to highly recommend.
Mr & Mrs Scott

April 10, 2015 April 13, 2015
This was one of the best sites we've stayed in. The log cabins are beautifully presented in a lovely peaceful environment - I highly recommend it and we'll be coming back again.
Rachel Fensome

March 13, 2015 March 16, 2015
The very spacious cabin was beautifully clean and warm when we arrived and was equipped with everything we required. Well beyond our expectations. Good quality bed linen and towels and comfortable beds. The children loved it, especially the hedgehog theme. We would love to stay again.
Sue Jordan

February 13, 2015 February 23, 2015
Log cabin was above our expectations Very clean,tidy and spacious. Good beds and really peaceful, never felt so at home so when away. would recommend to anyone and will be returning. Eat at the windwhistle inn outstanding food. Paul Saiger

February 20, 2015 February 23, 2015
What a great place to visit - it was a home from home with everything you could need for a great stay - log fire amazing! Have already recommended to friends and family and will look to stay again in the future!
Hayley Finch

February 16, 2015 February 20, 2015
We enjoyed our stay and the log cabin was perfect for our needs. The only minor thing we said we would have liked was that the tea and coffee etc was fit to use as it looked like it had seen better days. We appreciate it was self catering accommodation and we should have bought our own, but having forgotten the tea bags we were delighted to see tea on the side only to be disappointed when the tea bags looked a strange yellow colour! As I say, only a minor thing!
Zoe, Tom & Olivia Ratcliffe

February 6, 2015 February 9, 2015
We had a lovley stay in hedgehog lodge with our 2 young childeren. Lovley secluded location and my childeren loved lyme regis beach only 20 mins away. Cabin was very clean and had everything we needed for our stay, very comfortable too. Deffinatley return to alpine grove it was so relaxing and beautiful.
Richard

January 22, 2015 January 25, 2015
Delightfully cosy loghouse, clean, warm and well-equipped, in an excellent situation for visiting the area
Naomi Davis.

January 8, 2015
We had an amazing stay, the cabin was beautifully presented and very comfortable. We really enjoyed the log fire and complimentary mince pies!! We would highly recommend a stay here and will be booking again.
Simon and Lianne Glover

2014

Mon 15/12/2014
Alpine Grove  
 
Thanks for the excellent accommodation . The log cabin was in perfect condition. It was very tasteful and rich, and left us three days enjoying very much. According to the season we were the only guests and were thus able to use the park-like outdoor area exclusively . It was a nice change to enjoy England in a different way . If the journey is not so far , we would certainly make more holiday at Alpine Grove Touring Park . Many thanks to Richard and Helen for the nice days .
Manfred

2013

Mon 20/05/2013
Alpine Grove  
 
Just had a four day stay in the hedgehog cabin and was really impressed by the space and very high standards of equipment in the cabin, so very peacefull tucked away in the woods. I would recommend a stay here to anyone, we will definitely come again!
Chris Knapp-Tabbernor

Fri 12/04/2013
Lovely Easter Break   

We were all in need of a break Christmas seems so long ago, We were looking forward to the Easter Break and when we got there it was just lovely and we had a great time we stayed in Hedgehog lodge which had every thing we wanted, Love to go back in the summer Thankyou for making us so welcome
Sue and Ian and Charlie the Lurcher

Tue 26/03/2013
Relaxing stay at Alpine Grove  
 
If you want somewhere to relax for a few days in the middle of the nowhere, with trees outside every window, then this is it!  Thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay in our Hedgehog Cabin.  We had everything we needed for our stay.  Such a relaxing cabin and lovely walks nearby - take your wellies!  Will definitely book to stay again when we are in need of a few days to get away from it all - stunning! Thanks very much
Karl & Alison Ellis

Tue 05/03/2013
Half Term Break 
  
Thanks so much for another wonderful break at Alpine Grove Log Cabins, this time we were in Hedgehog Lodge and as usual everything was there to make it a relaxing and enjoyable break for Fiona,  myself, the three boys & Duggie the dog. We will see you again soon.
Paul Watling & Family

Sat 26/01/2013
our stay at alpine grove log cabin roe deer    
our stay was lovely, the cabin was perfect and had everything we needed init, we stayed for 5 nights in january 2013I would most definatley recommend a stay, and we would be more than happy to stay and visit again, the location is ideal and not to far away from nearest town and only 10 miles from lyme regis on the south coast which we visited and enjoyed such a nice place. we did some walking and exploring around the area and there would be plenty to do in the season march/april onwards, however being january we had a nice relaxing quiet break all in all. Nice friendly people and a very nice quiet pleasant atmosphere away from the dramas of busy and fast noisey towns. The cabins are lovely and set out in a nice way, we enjoyed getting snuggled up infront of the log burner each evening with a hot chocolate muchies and stuck a movie on. got what we expected and its a 10 out of 10 from both myself and my partner.
carl & claire

Tue 08/01/2013
WOODPECKER LOG CABIN  
 
Me my hubby and my children stayed in Woodpecker Log Cabin during Christmas to New Year period.  It was lovely the cabin was clean, there were mince pies left and the cabin was decorated with christmas decks.  It was a peaceful and stress free stay and we will return again soon
KELLEY ANDREWS

2012

Tue 27/11/2012
Lovely cabin   

I stayed in Hedgehog lodge for a long weekend in November with my family.  We had a great time, and were all sad to leave on the Monday morning.  The cabin was lovely and cosey, a real home from home, with everything you need for a break away.  We spent our days visiting Lyme Regis and Ferne Animal Sanctuary, which were great for the kids, but couldnlt wait to return to the cabin to sit in front of the fire with a mug of cocoa.  A real treat for us all and a break from the hustle and bustle of daily life. 
Carly Sullivan

Tue 27/11/2012
Wonderful Winter 3 day break!

It was a perfect get-away. Welcomed with a home-made cream tea on arrival - what could be more spoiling! Beautiful Log Cabin; felt like we were the only ones in the wood! Very well laid out and spacious and also toddler friendly - our 2 year old loved playing on the trampoline, and my husband loved making fires in the woodburner! Happy family equals happy Mom!! We had a fun cycle ride, but most of all enjoyed cosying up in the evenings playing board games! A wonderful break. Thank you Helen & Richard!
Finola & John Colvin

Fri 16/11/2012
Late Autumn in the Woods   

Had a lovely time watching the leaves fall. The woods are beautiful and the drift is interesting to explore.
Both ourselves and our dogs were made to feel very welcome and Richard gave us advice on what was worth seeing in the area.
We enjoyed watching his logs burn every evening and found the cabins extreamly warm.
The cabins were well equiped and very comfortable, good sofas and beds.
Forgot my laptop when returning and Richard parcelled it on to me, what a treasure!
Would love to return when the rhododendrons are in flower.
Chris & Becky & Dogs

Wed 07/11/2012
Back again - perfect as ever   

4th visit to Alpine Grove. You can\'t fail to relax in such wonderful surroundings - in the cabin and outside in the lovely woodland. A warm welcome from Richard and Helen and a lovely cream tea!  We really don\'t want to share how good it is here as it might start getting too booked up for when we want to return, which we definitely will.
Tina and Mark Lazell

Sun 04/11/2012
Hedgehog Cabin 24th - 31st Oct   

Just spent half term with the kids (10 and 7) at Alpine Grove and didn\'t want to leave!! Situated in a small (but cosy) woodland area the Cabin provided a fantastic homely, spacious base set in a ideal location for our exploration of Somerset and Dorset. Greeted with a scrumptious cream tea the cabin did not disappoint providing all the creature comforts (fire, central heating, dishwasher) required to aid a relaxing holiday. We\'re sure to return some day! Thank you.
Gary Hughes

Wed 10/10/2012
Woodpecker Lodge 
  
We have just returned from a great holiday at Alpine Grove. We have never stayed in a log cabin before and thought we would give it a try. How lucky we were to find Alpine Grove, the cabin was lovely and spotlessly clean. The bedrooms had comfy beds with plenty of space in the wardrobes and chests for clothing. The bathroom  was large with a shaped bath and shower, the heated towel rail was an added bonus. The  kitchen, dining and living room were furnished to a very high spec and equiped with everything you could possibly need including a dishwasher. Helen and Richard are warm, welcoming hosts and the cream tea on arrival was a very nice touch. The site is well laid out  with space for children to play as well as for adults who  just want to relax or take woodland walks. We have already recommended Alpine Grove to friends.
Gill & Peter Snowling

Tue 09/10/2012
Perfect Honeymoon.   

We recently stayed at Alpine Grove for a week on honeymoon. What an amazing place to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet. We stayed in the Hedgehog Cabin and could not have asked for better. Clean, cosy and so warm and homely, was the perfect place for us to spend our first week as a married couple. Thank you.
Danielle Ryder

Mon 08/10/2012
Perfect weekend 
  
We love the Somerset & Devon area and this was our first stay at Alpine Lodge park but it will not be our last, the log cabin was very clean and comfortable every thing you could possbily need was in the cabin, and the lovely weclome of a homade afternoon tea was most welcome and unexpected. Very friendly park a credit to Richard and his family
Barrie & Caroline Smith-Wright

Tue 25/09/2012
Roe Deer log cabin
   
Lovely relaxing weekend, sorry that we could not make it for the full three nights due to car problems, but the two nights that we had were wonderful. Cabin very comfortable and even though the weather was lousy, it was very cosy with the wood burner. We will definitely be returning, a great place to explore this lovely region. Thank you for your hospitality!
Tina Williams

11/09/2012
Woodpecker Lodge  
 
Really enjoyed our second stay at Alpine Grove in one of the newer lodges.  As has been said by other reviewers, the lodges are spacious, clean and comfortable.  We were delighted to be presented with freshly baked scones, jam and clotted cream on arrival which we enjoyed on our private, sunny veranda.  We will be coming again next year.
Sue and Wanda  

Tue 11/09/2012
Peaceful retreat  
 
We came down for a long weekend to give my parents a well earned rest and what a perfect location it turned out to be.  We were greeted by Richard and Helen who were the perfect hosts and the cream tea on arrival was most welcome after a long journey! 
We stayed in the Tawny Owl cabin which was nestled amongst the trees and bushes which gave great privacy.  The cabin was well laid out and lovely and clean, it even had a dishwasher much to mine and mums delight!    Our only complaint is that it wasn\'t a bit colder as we would love to have tried out the log burner on one of the evenings. Our two greyhounds enjoyed exploring the campsite and the woodland walks.  The dog friendly places to visit guide in the cabin was a great idea and we enjoyed some lovely days out in the surrounding area. We will definitely return!
Emma M

Tue 04/09/2012
Tawny Owl log cabin

What a wonderful stay ! We arrived late on the a Friday evening, and Richard was more than happy to guide us in over the phone to our cabin - he was so helpful !! We were greeted by gorgeous cream teas and such a perfect cabin- much more then what we expected. Everything was clean and tidy with little touches of love all around the cabin. The log fire burner was an extra bonus and kept us warm in the evenings. Richard recommended a great walk which we did on the Saturday morning - Poppe Inn and Forde Abbey two of the stops on this lovely walk. We then enjoyed the heated pool in afternoon, which was fantastic - clean and well looked after. We had been supplied with a BBQ, so had a great evening BBQ\'ing enjoying the surroundings. We were all very sad when we had to leave on the Sunday morning. We have already recommended to friends and family. Thank you Richard and Helen for a perfect short break away. Well worth the three hr drive :)
Tamrin, Jon, Phil and Dee

Tue 04/09/2012
Woodpecker Log Cabin 
  
Just returned from a long weekend at Alpine GRove Touring Park and have to say it was beautiful. The log cabin itself was immaculate and the surrounding scenery was amzing. There is a sainsburys about 5 mins drive to get shopping. We will definately be returning and would recommend this place to anyone
K Andrews

Saturday 11th August 2012
Wonderful stay
We stayed for a short 3 night break in June, staying in one of the log cabins. Our time there was fantastic, the cabin was absolutely perfect, well laid out with plenty of space for the two of us. We had a little fire going each night as we relaxed in the living room. I would definitely recommend this place, especially if you want a break with easy access to some beautiful countryside and stunning beaches. There was total privacy in the cabin, clearly designed with that in mind. The owners of the site were really lovely people and made us feel very welcome and relaxed. We would definitely go back and stay again.
James Black

Wednesday 8th August 2012
Roedeer Lodge and Tawney Owl Lodge at Alpine Grove Self Catering Log Cabins, Chard, Somerset, UK  
I had a complicated family for which to provide an exciting but also restful holiday; two senior citizens, two young children of 6 and 3 years of age, a twelve year old going on very fast to being a teenager, and two other adults of 27 and 40 plus years. The Lodges were in a fairy tale forest with well appointed, beautiful and comfortable lodges in which to eat rest and play. Out side the younger children were always occupied in the play areaswith plenti of play mates of their own age, and surrounded by nature and  lovely walks. The velux windows gave light not only by the stars at night which one could easily close off but natural light in daylight. Comfortable bathrooms with every facility provided luxurious settings  and storage space, with a bath come shower in one Lodge and a super duper shower in the other Lodge. We tended to all eat together in Roedeer Lodge which was easy. Lovely walks near the Park were visited and TV  was available to those with no more energy available. The cream tea greeting was much appreciated. From this setting we explored the South coast and Eden Project and the stunning countryside and animals. Thankyou!
Cynthia McLaglen

Tuesday 31st July 2012
Tawny Owl log cabin no 3 
 
A very well and thoughtfully appointed cabin. We had a very comfortable stay. The cream tea on arrival was a lovely touch and we were impressed by the whole site and the welcome we received. We will go again and recommend it to our friends
Jim Janet and Joanne Blackwell

Tuesday 3rd July 2012
Alpine Grove - Great Getaway 
 
Really nice place, secluded with good facilities and a lovely area. Had a great three night stay and the welcome was really nice (cream teas provided!)
Simon&Si

Wednesday 20th June 2012
OUR STAY AT ALPINE GROVE 
 
AFTER OUR FOURTH VISIT ONCE AGAIN A WONDERFULL STAY IT IS LIKE OUR LITTLE HOME FROM HOME , WHAT A GREAT WELCOME FROM OUR SO FRIENDLY HOSTS NOW LOOKING FORWARD TO OUR NEXT STAY
JOHN & DIANNE RIPPER

Wednesday 13th June 2012
Log cabin.1 week May 2012  

Stayed for a week in May - and it was fabulous! Tropical weather, but the comfort of the cabin and warmth of welcome would have made a good holiday in any weather. Thanks for such a good experience
Gill

Saturday 18th April 2012
Peaceful break in Roe Deer Lodge
  
Great place for a lovely peaceful and relaxing Easter break.Cabin was very spacious and we loved how cosy it was in the evenings with the log fire.The cream tea that was waiting for us on arrival was very much appreciated by all and was a lovely touch.We really enjoyed our stay and wished we had booked for longer.Our dogs,Bailey and Zeus,the German Shepherds thoroughly enjoyed their walks in the woods.Would definately like to return and would certainly recommend it.Brilliant.
Linda Woodley

Saturday 10th April 2012
Alphine Grove Log Cabin 
 
Well, the first time ever where reality was better than the pictures, fantastic site, fantastic location and the cabin was just out of this world.  the kids loved it and it was perfect even with our big dog!  Defnitely worth another visit next year.
Linda Woodley

Saturday 9th April 2012
The brilliant stay we had  
Absolutley fantastic stay at Alpine Grove, have recommended it to all our family & friends, will most deffinatley be returning in the summer. The owners were incredibly kind & helpful. Much appreciated, a little something like Alpine Grove woodlands goes a long way!.
Lucy Farrington

Saturday 1st April 2012
Perfect first family holiday
  
We had a great week in this wonderful location. The cabin was lovely, just like a home from home, with everything we could\'ve needed. The cream tea was a lovely welcome and a nice touch. This was our first family holiday away, as well as a much needed break, and it\'s definitely provided us with brilliant memories. I just hope that we\'ll be able to return one day.
The Gillibrand family

2011

Saturday 8th October 2011
Holiday.Log Cabin
  
We had a very welcome break in a lovely log cabin.The cabin was very clean and well furnished and it was obvious a lot of thought had gone into making it wheelchair friendly ie:very large door to bathrom,lovely big shower with seat for disabled.Everything worked that should work including a decent central heating system.Couldn\'t fault it.
Steve and Jan Curd

Thursday 6th October 2011
Alpine Grove Log Cabin Stay 
 
A really great place to spend a few days away, nice and quiet in a great setting with clean and comfortable accommodation.  The location is great for exploring the local area too.  The welcoming cream tea was a lovely touch and we would definitely recommend a stay here.
The Burnell Family

Saturday 1st October 2011
Great cabin, surrounded by trees  

Thank you both for working so hard to create such a brilliant environment for all. We loved the fact that if we wanted to be amongst people we could walk around the centre area, or if we wanted to read in peace or set up photos of trees, we could do that also, due to the way the site is designed. The cabins view of the plants outside is incredible!
Kerry Light

Wednesday 21st September 2011
feedback from our stay in Roe Deer Lodge 9-16 Sept  
 
The cream tea was sooo nice! Loved the cabin though we thought it was a little expensive for Sept. Wasn\'t good for my son who\'s suffering depression as it\'s quite dark in the cabin. Maybe some brighter lights would have helped. However, we enjoyed our stay & the dogs loved
Preedy Family

Thursday 15th Septembert 2011
Great 2 Week 
  
Fantastic Log Cabin. We stayed for 2 weeks and it was a wonderful place for the kids to play  and expolre the area. Fossil hunting in Charmouth, Walks and lunchg in Seatown. Paddling in Beer. Kids really enjoyed the swimming pool.
Preedy Family

Saturday 10th Septembert 2011
Lovely Holiday 
  
We had a lovely holiday - so very relaxing. The cabin was tucked away in the woodland - very spacious with everything we needed. The campsite was wonderful - our daughter loved the pool and trampoline. We will definitely be returning.
Thomas Family

Saturday 10th Septembert 2011
Lovely Holiday  
 
We had a lovely holiday - so very relaxing. The cabin was tucked away in the woodland - very spacious with everything we needed. The campsite was wonderful - our daughter loved the pool and trampoline. We will definitely be returning.
Thomas Family

Monday 22nd August 2011
Wonderful Woodland Log Cabin - Tawny Owl Lodge

The Tawny Owl Lodge Cabin In The Wonderful Woodland......... clean and tidy cabin containing everything you need for a relaxing break. The decor is very high spec and cosy. Lovely big bathroom, great shower. The bedrooms are neat, tidy and well maintained with large wardrobes and bedside cabinets. Can\'t fault the accommodation it was A+++++. The outdoor pool was lovely and warm, the children were in there when ever they had the chance! We had a lovely treat from Richard and Helen on arrival which we ate with delight.....warm scones with jam and cream, a lovely touch. The pit fire we hired was a great hit with the girls, they loved cooking sausages and marshmellows. A fantastic base for exploring, and a lovely log cabin to come back to after a busy day wandering around the endearing county. Weather could have been better, but we will remember Tawny Owl Lodge because it was such a great experience.
Tracey, John, Ellia, Hollie and Sidonie

Monday, 2nd May 2011
Testimonial

We have had an absolutely brilliant 7 night stay in the Tawny Owl log cabin. It truly was home from home (and I\'m a bit fussy!). It was superbly equipped, clean and incredibly warm and comfortable. I had preparred for feeling a bit cold at night but needn\'t have bothered, it was really cosy and warm. Our three children were in heaven, they made loads of friends and loved the freedom they could have in the grounds within such a safe environment. We have such chaotic lives at home, so the week away was a real tonic in such beautiful surroundings. So thank you - we will definitely be coming back! The Lines Family. 
Ali and Phil Lines and Family

Wednesday, 27 April 2011
Happy Holiday 
   
Thanks so much for another wonderful stay at Alpine Grove Log Cabins. So peaceful, relaxing and fun for the children too
Paul Watling

Friday, 18 March 2011
log cabin stay
   
This was the third time we have stayed in one of alpine groves cabins and again we had a wonderful weekend. The cabin was immaculately clean, well equipt and cosy and the hot chocolate and chocolate muffins were a lovely welcome. The setting is so peaceful and relaxing and Richard and Helen are very welcoming. We will definately be back and we may even decide to bring the kids next time! Well maybe!
lisa & paul Silva

Friday, 11 February 2011
Perfect Place To Propose!!  
 
This was our third stay at Alpine Grove Log Cabin. What wonderful cosy & romantic surroundings to propose!! The cabin is like home from home with everything you need to enjoy your holiday. The beautiful  woodland surroundings are the perfect place to relax in. Even Buster our dog enjoyed himself with walks in the woods. Grahams brother & girlfriend joined us for the first day & loved it wishing they could have stayed longer & took a brochure with them with the intention of booking up for themselves. The Cabin is lovely & cosy with the log burner being lit at night & relaxing in front of the tv or even listening to music or watching a dvd. The views from inside the cabin are just as amazing as walking  around outside. Being set back in the woodlands makes it a very quiet & private place to be. We received a warm wlecome on arrival with a lovely basket containing hot chocolate & home made cookies wonderful!!! This is the perfect place to get away from the hussle & bussle of everyday life & needs to be experienced for yourself. We will be booking again next year. Many thanks to Richard & Helen for making our stay so wonderful.
Graham, Liz & Buster the Dog

Thursday, 6 January 2011
best christmas ever 2010   

Tawny owl log cabin was in a spotless condition and the wood burner simply added to the ambience.Our four day stay was idyllic.With the backdrop of snow everywhere we could have been in Sweden or Norway.How lucky were we to enjoy stunning scenery and having the best christmas ever! Another bonus on our arrival was the tasty mince pie/strudles and brandy cream.yum, yum.We  later reluctantly left our log cabin for  a walk to a friendly local pub,Enjoyed Lyme Regis and Hive Beach near Bridport, which was a definate must see, especially the eatery which lets you shelter from the wind and be mesmorised by watching the rolling sea waves.Also the food was excellent.Thankyou so much folks for all the efforts you make to ensure  your guests have a superb stay .Wish  we could have  stayed longer really- since we had such a lovely time. at Alpine Grove
the thornton family

2010

Tuesday, 14 December 2010
Fantastic Weekend in the log cabin

What a fantastic weekend break we had in one of the two log cabins, we were made very welcome by richard  & Helen and given scones with cream & jam on our arrival. the cabin has all mod cons including a dishwasher, we hired a pit fire which we lit on the balcony it was perfect in the woodland setting, we will certainly be booking again next year. thank you so much.
The Withey Family

Tuesday, 5 October 2010
Perfect choice for a relaxing holiday in beautiful Somerset

The tawny owl log cabin was spotless on our arrival. The woodland setting was so pretty and peaceful. Every little eventuality was thought of from the fully equipped kitchen right through to the little tub of matches provided for lighting the cosy wood burner. The welcome including the cream tea on arrival was just one of many special little touches. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Alpine Grove, the location was great, the log cabin really something special, and so very comfortable. We will be recommending to family and friends and will definitely be returning for another holiday.
West

Sunday, 3 October 2010
Fantastic

Had the most wonderful week. The cabin was beautiful and the surroundings stunning! Thank you so much, we were not pleased about having to come home!
Anna, Toby & Michael

Sunday, 3 October 2010
Just Perfect!

We have just had a  wonderful relaxing two week stay in Tawny Owl log cabin and can honestly say it is one of the nicest log cabins we have been in and we have tested quite a lot since being  bitten by the log cabin bug  over  five years ago.  The yummy cream tea on arrival was very much appreciated, as was the accommodating nature of the owners who let us take  possesion of the cabin early due to an unforeseen early arrival. The standard of this log cabin is very high with just the right mix of space and cosy comfort. The selling point was definitely the log burner, which was really given some use (poor Richard\'s arms must have been dropping off with cutting all the wood we asked him to provide!) even though the weather was very kind to us apart from a few days of rain.  Though when in rains in woodland you definitely know it has rained. The setting  was truly outstanding and even though close to amenities  and main  transport links you still feel as though you are  in the countryside (if the screams of foxes and the hoots of owls are anything to go by and cheeky robins on the veranda).    Fantastic place for both children and dogs (our bassett Fred loved it, especially as Richard kept bringing him sticks!) It is very central being on the border of three counties (Somerset, Dorset and Devon) and a very short drive to the beautiful coastal  resorts of Lyme Regis, Seaton and Beer etc.  As all the other reviews have stated it is run by a very warm and welcoming couple (Helen and Richard) and much thought and detail has gone into a truly superb location to spend your holidays.  For a truly  wonderful holiday memory  the firepit is not to be missed.   We spent a lovely evening cooking sausages and  toasting toast and marshmallows over the open firepit and warmed ourselves until the late hours huddled around our fire listening to the sounds of the night.  Fantastic. Keep up the good work and if you do decide to build a third cabin,  a partially covered veranda would be much appreciated!
Evans Family & Fred (the Woof)

Tuesday, 14 September 2010
Brilliant!

Alpine Grove is a truly lovely and well cared for site set amongst some really beautiful countryside with easy access to the nearby coast and local places of interest. We received the warmest possible welcome on arrival, and our whole week in the Tawny Owl log cabin was just perfect. It was well furnished to a very high standard with DVDs, games and books also thoughtfully provided. We highly recommend it and will certainly return!
Wheeler Family

Sunday, 12 September 2010
Lovely log cabins!! 
  
Beautifully and cleverly thought out acommodation with all the comforts of home with the sensation of being closer to nature. Wonderful surrounding countryside, easy drive to jurassic coast...be great even in winter as has central heating and wood burner (maybe even better!!)....well worth booking a fire pit before you go....
Mark Green

Tuesday, 12 August 2010
Nice and quiet

We stayed for a week and enjoyed the quietness and spaciousness in and outside the owl log cabin. This cabin we can recommend to anyone! Nice, clean and big and with a very comfortable shower. The park is relatively small and quiet and for kids (6-12 years of age?) it has an area where they can meet and play. The trampoline and tabletennis they liked a lot. Also the wood is ideal for kids to play in. Just a few recommendations for the owners of the park: Opening times of the swimming pool should be extended. Especially at the end of the day you could sit and swim in the late sun if it didn't close that early (5.30 pm). 7.00 pm would be nicer. In the morning it should open from 9.00 am to be comfortable. What would improve this specific cabin, is a little larger terrace and this partially roofed. Like a veranda. A must in the english weather if you want to leave dirty hiking boots outside and dry. More metal hooks inside for towels and jackets to hang them on. a standard filter coffee machine or at least a paper filter holder. In general, the park and cabin where really nice and we would like to recommend these highly to anyone.
Robert, Annegien, Nathan and Silas

Sunday, 25 July 2010
What a find!

We've just come back after a fabulous weekend at Alpine Grove. We stayed in the Roe Deer Wooden Cabin, which was lovely and had all that we needed, very comfortable indeed. Richard and Helen along with their family are really brilliant owners attending to all that is needed and above all providing fresh homemade scones, fresh cream and jam on arrival...yummy!! Our children loved the swimming pool, trampoline and adventure playground. We would highly recommend staying at this site and it puts you in an excellent place for visiting all the local attractions. We will look forward to a return visit most definitely. Well done Richard and Helen and Thanks again.
The Hulme Family

Sunday, 25 July 2010
Beautiful Cabins, beautiful location

We enjoyed a superb break in this wonderful place. The log cabins, though relatively new, exude character - and they are extremely well equipped. The woodland surroundings are perfect for relaxing or exploring. Richard and Helen could not have been more welcoming and provide excellent information on the area. Like many others who have commented on here, we look forward to our next visit.
Joe, Kerrie, Louis + Cormac

Wednesday, 21 July 2010
IDYLLIC HOLIDAY

fabulous log cabin, stylish, comfortable and beautifully equipped and furnished. The woodland setting is magical and it is obvious that lots of care and hard work have been invested in the beautiful site. The delicious cream tea thoughtfully provided was demolished even before we unloaded the car. It was lovely to feel so close to nature with just the sound of the birds. It is a perfect spot for a peaceful and relaxing break - we hope to come again in the autumn.
Ally, Dez and Dash the dog

Monday, 7 June 2010
Hansel and Gretal''s cottage

We arrived late on a Friday in the dark and followed the directions to the cottage and there,nestling in the trees was our log cabin lit up by the fairy lights. The cottage was spacious and spotless. We had a great stay and Richard made us very welcome even providing a needle and thread when my outfit needed to be repaired!!! The Alpine Grove is so peaceful and is is a lovely area. Thank you so much for a lovely stay!
The O'' Grady Family

Friday, 4 June 2010
7 - 10 May 2010 - Amazing weekend!

We both had such a lovely weekend. Thank you Richard and Helen for the cream tea and for the warm welcome. We stayed in tawny owl log cabin. It was so cosy and peaceful. We both can't wait to visit again.
Ian and Rachel

Thursday, 3 June 2010
Log cabins

We came down for 5 days with our 2 dogs and all of us loved it - just what the doctor ordered - rest and relaxation.
liz & martyn dando

Thursday, 6 May 2010
Bringing People Together

These lovely cabins managed to bring together friends from Singapore, London and Guernsey and were perfectly situated to attend a friend's wedding at Forde Abbey. The welcome scones, jam and cream were devoured instantly but the warm welcome lasted the whole weekend. Definitely for our little black book and a return visit and reunion.
Rachel Chilton

Wednesday, 28 April 2010
Perfect weekend break

We absolutely loved our weekend spent in the Roe Deer log cabin, it was everything we'd hoped for and more. Friendly people, beautiful surroundings and superb accommodation. We will definitely go and again and loved it so much we're hoping to spend our honeymoon there!
Lisa & Derek

Thursday, 15 April 2010
Easter Break 2010

Another lovely break, peaceful and relaxing. Made good use of the log fire. Don't be put off by the weather, a beautiful area to visit with a lovely log fire to come back to. Will be back again hopefully soon.
Tina an Mark Lazell

Thursday, 18 March 2010
Wonderful & relaxing weekend.

It was wonderful to return to alpine grove again.After our lovely stay in the Roe Deer cabin in September we decided to forgo the usual smellies and fluffly socks for xmas and return to alpine grove instead. This time we stayed in tawny owl cabin and it was just as clean cosy and comfortable as Roe Deer. These lovely warm cosy cabins are perfect for a relaxing break anytime of the year We will be back, of that I have no doubt.
lisa & paul silva

Thursday, 25 February 2010
alpine grove

just returned from spending a 4 night break in tawny owl lodge, and we all totaly loved it aswell as our dog who loved the walks in the woods, the lodge was beautifull , and a great warm welcome, thanks very much.
Diane and Steve

Tuesday, 12 January 2010
Fab getaway, thanks so much

Had a wonderful 3 nights and everything was perfect. We couldn't have wished for anything more. Thanks so much to Richard and Helen, it was divine and the perfect getaway. We shall definitely be returning!
Snowman and Snowlady

OLDER

Saturday, 21 November 2009
A fantastic Winter break

We stayed in the Tawny Owl log cabin last week and it was the perfect Winter break, we enjoyed 4 nights there and it was very cosy and relaxing - we took a few trips out exploring the local area but mainly spent time in the cabin which had everything you could possibly need. The wood burning fire added a wonderful romantic touch and kept us lovely and warm, we used it every night! Richard the owner was very welcoming and helpful and his wife left us a home made cream tea for us on arrival which was delicious, thank you for a lovely stay.
Claire & Tom

Friday, 20 November 2009
Stay @ Alpine Grove November 2009

Gday all had a cracking w-end in Tawney log Cabin & it is an awsome place, well set up & thought out, the weather was wild & the log burner was a great way to end each day, we will be back, superb !!!
P. Sykes

Sunday, 11 October 2009
Peaceful Retreat

We had a lovely weeks stay in Tawney Owl Cabin. It was well equipped, cosy and comfy. The cream tea was a wonderful welcome! Staying with friends we did discover a lack of soundproofing, but this was not a problem. The owners have got the balance just right with their hospitality and efficiency, and we look forward to returning in the near future.
Hilary, Sharon, Jenny and Roger

Thursday, 8 October 2009
Peacefull holiday (Not Long Enough ) September 2009

Thanks for a lovely peacefull holiday we loved every moment the walks round the country side are great and the coast line is with in easy reach I put my sat nav on to see the senic route's they are great we will be coming back in 2010.The log cabin was home from home it was clean and tidy all you have at home is there. Thank you once again for making our holiday pleas'ant. Pete & Doreen Steve Ann Coleman
Peter & Doreen Steven Ann Coleman

Wednesday, 7 October 2009
Annual family Sept weekend break

Another succesful weekend in the log cabins. The weather was warm and sunny again so the swimming pool was well used as was the BBQ. Thanks for the cream tea on arrival a very nice welcoming touch.
Helen and Ian

Wednesday, 7 October 2009
20th wedding anniversary treat
.
We have camped at Alpine grove for many years and always found it a wonderful experience. For our wedding anniversary we decided to stay in one of the log cabins for the weekend and we were delighted. Roe Deer cabin was clean, comfortable, cosy and very welcoming,the cream tea was lovely. It was very well equipt and the attention to detail made it feel very homely. We will definately be coming back.Thankyou for making our anniversary so special.
Paul & Lisa

Wednesday, 7 October 2009
Spot on

We were lucky enough to enjoy a short break in one of the log cabins recently and it was wonderful! Cabin was really clean, well equipped, homely and very peaceful. We stayed with there our two year old and had some fantastic days out locally, as well as being able to have some safe fun with him around the park. We will definately be returning!! Thanks to all at Alpine Grove!
Kate, Shaun and Ben

Wednesday, 30 September 2009
What a wonderful holiday!!!

We had such a wonderful 4 days in the Tawny Owl Log Cabin! It had everything you could ever need. The kids loved being able to run over to the park, the dog loved running around in the woods, and going for a swim just topped things off. I can't explain how beautiful the cabin is and how friendly Richard and family are. Don't tell too many people though...I wan't to stay again, so don't want it to be too booked up!
Trish, Jon, Jemma, Nathan and Rosie the dog!

Saturday, 26 September 2009
Brilliant weekend!

Fantastic weekend had by all, weather was superb and everything was perfect, very very relaxing! Hope to come back very soon!
Kim & Jon

Wednesday, 23 September 2009
An Ideal Break

We recently stayed in Tawny Owl Lodge and it exceeded our expectations It was cosy and clean with a lot of comforts we didnt expect, including jam and cream scones, which were delicious. Its in a lovely setting and good for walking and sight seeing.
Paul and Audrey, East Yorkshire

Tuesday, 15 September 2009
Fabulous Break!

We recently stayed in the log cabin and had a great time. The scones were a lovely welcome and the cabin itself had a very homely feel about it. Even though the weather was poor, we had a great break and enjoyed being cosy with the fire! So much so we did not want to leave!
The Reynolds Family

Thursday, 3 September 2009
Wonderful Stay!

Highly recommended - we stayed in the Tawney Owl Lodge with our two small children (2 and 4) for 4 nights and had a great time. The lodge was lovely - everything we needed even games and DVD's. The location was great too - peaceful and beautiful woodland. The kids loved the campsite and pool. Richard and Helen could not have been more welcoming or helpful even suppling us with a small paddling pool to wash the kids in as this lodge didn't have a bath. Lots to do in the area also - Pecorama, Lyme Regis and Cricket St Thomas all big hits.
Jo & Family

Tuesday, 25 August 2009
Alpine Grove Holiday

My wife has always wanted to stay in a real log cabin,we stayed in tawny owl lodge and it was everything we hoped. The cabin was wonderful with everything you could possibly need, the location in the woods was great and the children enjoyed exploring. Richard and Helen made us feel very welcome and thanks to richard for waiting for us (we arrived late 21.00 due to car trouble) so the scones,jam and cream richard gave us as a welcome were much appreciated. We will definately be returning.
The Didonato family from kent.

Sunday, 9 August 2009
A Lovely Week

Although we have visited Alpine Grove several times with our caravan, we have just returned from our first log cabin break. It was wonderful: the cabin was beautifully presented, very cosy and there was ample room for all of us (3 children and 2 dogs included!). Richard and Helen were as always very warm and helpful, and despite the weather, there was plenty to do in the vicinity. We have already re-booked!
Tom, Helen, Harry, Katie, Laura and the Dogs

Saturday, 18 July 2009
Log Cabin July 2009

This was our first stay, the log cabin far exceeded expectation, very comfortable and a fantastic setting. Warm, friendly welcome and a lovely cream tea! Highly recommended.
Mark and Tina Lazell

Monday, 13 July 2009
Brilliant & Beautiful!

Just back from a superb stay in Deer Lodge. We're not your typical campsite holiday makers but we may reassess this, as this trip was truly brilliant. The lodge was gorgeous and very well kept. Absolutely spotless and with everything we could need. The site is safe for kids and the owners have provided loads for them to do. The setting is simply beautiful and lends itself to a perfectly relaxing holiday. The pool is great and Richard is possibly the most helpful guy I''ve ever met! If I''m being really picky, the only thing that could have made our stay better was more consistent good weather but I guess that would be asking a bit too much of the owners. We cannot recommend this place highly enough and will definitely return at some point in the future. Thanks to all at Alpine Grove. We''ll see you again soon!
The Herbisons

Tuesday, 7 July 2009
Perfect Easter break

We had a great time, very warm welcome by our hosts, perfect acommodation - the log cabin was beautiful, warm and very comfortable, lots of information on local areas, ideal place for children and grown-ups (dogs too!). Thoroughly recommended for short breaks or holidays. We would love to go back one day!
Mrs D. English

Thursday, 18 June 2009
Fabulous Weekend Away

The log cabin was beautiful, very well presented. We were welcomed with scones, jam and cream, what better way to start! We were invited to the village barn dance, which was really enjoyable and we were made very welcome by all involved. The surrounding area is easy to explore and Richard was very helpful in suggesting great places to eat. We will definitely look to return at some point in the future. Thank you for a perfect break for our anniversary.
Adele & Adam Pugh

Tuesday, 9 June 2009
Lovely long weekend

We just stayed in the Tawny Owl Cabin. Very impressed with layout, such a lovely place to stay. We were made immediately welcome with a cream tea and Richard was always very helpful. I would recommend a day out at Crealy Park if you have kiddies (and dog can go too). Lyme Regis and beaches on that coast very good too, especially as we had great weather! Would love to come back!
Liz and Simon Skinner

Monday, 8 June 2009
Paradise on Earth !

We have just come back from a week at the log cabin. When we arrived we were presented with a delicious cream tea and then, when we walked in the cabin we knew straight away we would have a wonderful time. It is beautifully furnished and my husband commented that he wanted to live there ! My children also loved it, especially the swimming pool and the adventure playground. We were also blessed with the weather which made the setting even more fantastic. Thank you Richard and Helen for making us feel like long lost friends and for looking after us so well. We definitely hope to come back again some day and had a fantastic time !
Nicky, Neil and family

Monday, 8 June 2009
Wonderful!!

Dear Richard, we came to stay a few weeks ago with our noisy dogs!! We had the most amazing time, so peaceful, we just chilled out completely!Thankyou for the perfect break,it was TRULY wonderful. Thanks from us 4!!!XXXXXXX
sally geoghegan

Saturday, 6 June 2009
A great time had by all!!

Great accomodation, great location, Richard and his family are so welcoming and helpful, Lisa the boys and I had a fantastic time will definetley come again!!
Rob and Lisa Lanz

Saturday, 6 June 2009
Beautiful Haven

What can I say? 4 days were certainly not enough. My husband and I had a great time in Deer Lodge. The cabin is so comfy and luxurious and just had a lovely feel to it. We were so impressed with the standard of accomodation, the woodland setting and the surrounding area. We were a little worried about taking our dog away for the first time but it was ideal for all of us. The swimming pool was an added bonus and was great for an early morning dip in the warm weather. We cant wait to return with some of the family to share this lovely place. Many thanks for making our holiday very special
Leon and Louise

Wednesday, 6 May 2009
Perfect!!

We have just returned home after a wonderful week in a log cabin at Alpine Grove. Richard and Helen are very friendly and welcoming with tips of where to go and what to see. The cabins are extremely comfortable and perfect for our young family. We look forward to returning again and would highly recommend Alpine Grove to anyone. Thanks so much
Waters Family

Now accepting
American Express



powered by TripAdvisor

Axminster Hotels
iknow-devon.co.uk

We're listed on the CoolRentalGuide

Country Cottages Online

Log Cabin Hub - Best Log Cabin Holiday Awards Badge


Copyright 2013 Alpine Grove Touring Park